When you fork (copy) a project, the existing project and its components will be copied. A fork always forms a succession history related back to the original project.
For example, when a lecturer creates an OSF project that includes assignments for students, each student can create a fork of the project in order for them to work on their own.
Note: When you create a fork of other user’s project, you will only get the copies of those components which are openly available or of which you are a contributor. The private components will not be copied.
A Project’s Fork (Copy)
By clicking ‘Forks’ small button on a header of project’s main screen, it will take you to the fork management screen.
By holding down the green ‘New Fork’ button on the upper right corner of the screen, the modal screen for confirmation will appear.
Click the ‘Fork’ button in the modal window.
An email will be sent to a registered email address containing the URL of the forked project. From the URL on the email message, move to the forked project.
The forked project is set to be private by default. You can change the privacy settings later.
On the main screen of a forked project, the link to the original project will be displayed under the project’s name.
The default name of a forked project is ‘Fork of <the original project name>’. This name can be changed just like a normal project.
A Fork of a Linked Project
If there is a project that is linked to a certain project, you can fork the linked project directly from the ‘Components’ pane.
From the ‘Components’ pane on a project’s main screen, select and hold down the fork icon next to the title of a linked project.
A modal window will appear confirming whether to fork the project or not. By holding down the ‘Fork’ button within the window, you can create a forked project.
You can either stay on the project’s page by clicking ‘Keep Working Here’, or move to a new fork by clicking ‘Go to New Fork’.